WHO Disability Assessment Schedule 2.0 (WHODAS 2.0)

The new WHODAS 2.0 supersedes WHODAS II and shows the following advantages:

  • A generic assessment instrument for health and disability
  • Used across all diseases, including mental, neurological and addictive disorders
  • Short, simple and easy to administer (5 to 20 minutes)
  • Applicable in both clinical and general population settings
  • A tool to produce standardized disability levels and profiles
  • Applicable across cultures, in all adult populations
  • Directly linked at the level of the concepts to the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF)

WHODAS 2.0 covers 6 Domains of Functioning, including:

  • Cognition – understanding & communicating
  • Mobility– moving & getting around
  • Self-care– hygiene, dressing, eating & staying alone
  • Getting along– interacting with other people
  • Life activities– domestic responsibilities, leisure, work & school
  • Participation– joining in community activities


If you plan to use WHODAS 2.0, please complete the online User Agreement Form.

To license WHODAS 2.0, such as for including WHODAS 2.0 in an electronic records or data capture system or reproducing it in any way, please go to Licensing WHO Classifications to submit a request.

To view available language translations, please see the WHODAS 2.0 Downloads Page.

If you are interested in translating WHODAS 2.0 into a language not currently available, please go to Publishing translations of WHO information materials to complete the Form for requesting permission to reproduce, reprint or translate WHO copyrighted material and a representative of WHO Press will respond to negotiate and complete the agreement.

To download scoring templates please click the following links:

Please note that the question responses for WHODAS 2.0 have not changed (No Difficulty, Mild Difficulty, Moderate Difficulty, Severe Difficulty, and Extreme Difficulty or Cannot Do), but the numbers assigned to them have (using a 5 point scale from 0-4 rather than from 1-5). This is in response to feedback received, and will not change the final score provided that you use the correct scale for the correct method. Use the 0-4 scale for these templates, only.

Frequently asked questions about WHODAS

Browse ICF Online

Access the WHODAS 2.0 Manual

More Information about ICF

Page updated on 14 June 2018