Parties to the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control

The WHO FCTC opened for signature from 16 June to 22 June 2003 in Geneva, and thereafter at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, from 30 June 2003 to 29 June 2004. The treaty, which is now closed for signature, has 168 Signatories, including the European Union, which makes it one of the most widely embraced treaties in United Nations history.

The Convention was open to signature by all Members of the World Health Organization (WHO), all States that are not Members of WHO but are Members of the United Nations and any regional economic integration organization. All of these, may become Parties to the Convention by ratifying it,.

Countries wishing to become a Party, but that did not sign the Convention by 29 June 2004, may do so by means of accession, which is a one-step process equivalent to ratification.

The Convention entered into force on 27 February 2005 - 90 days after it had been acceded to, ratified, accepted, or approved by 40 States.

Currently there are 181 Parties covering more than 90% of the world population.


Signatories to the WHO FCTC: 168
Parties to the WHO FCTC: 181 (Last Party: Mozambique. Entry into force: 14 July 2017 )