Parties to the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control

After its adoption by the 56th World Health Assembly in May 2003, the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC) was open for signature until 29 June 2004. 168 States signed the WHO FCTC during this period expressing their willingness to become a Party to the Convention. Countries wishing to become a Party, but that did not sign the Convention by 29 June 2004, may do so by means of accession, which is a one-step process equivalent to ratification.

In accordance with Article 36 of the WHO FCTC, the Convention entered into force on 27 February 2005, 90 days after the fortieth State had acceded to, ratified, accepted, or approved it. It is deposited at the United Nations Headquarters in New York and remains open to Members of the World Health Organization (WHO) and States that are not Members of the WHO but are members of the United Nations as well as regional economic integration organizations.


Signatories to the WHO FCTC: 168
Parties to the WHO FCTC: 181 (Last Party: Mozambique. Entry into force: 14 July 2017 )

For the status of ratification, see the following link:

Last update:

23 November 2017 10:14 CET

  • Declarations
    Unless otherwise indicated, the objections were made upon ratification, acceptance, approval, formal confirmation or accession.