Food safety

International food standards (FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius)

The Codex Alimentarius, or "Food Code" is a collection of standards, guidelines and codes of practice adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission. The Commission is a joint intergovernmental body of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and WHO with 188 Member Countries and one Member Organization (The European Union). Codex has worked since 1963 to create harmonized international food standards to protect the health of consumers and ensure fair trade practices.

The 42nd Session of the Codex Alimentarius Commission

The United Nations food standards body Codex Alimentarius Commission is meeting in Geneva from 8 to 12 July 2019 to adopt food safety and quality standards. Charged with protecting consumer health and ensuring fair practices in the food trade, the Codex Alimentarius is a joint initiative of the Food and Agricultural Organization of United Nations (FAO) and World Health Organization (WHO).

Decisions taken at the 42nd session of the Commission will be published below as they are made.

FAO/WHO Codex Trust Fund

Codex Trust Fund builds on the experience gained over the past 12 years and takes the next step in supporting developing and transition economy countries to help build their capacity to engage fully and effectively in the Codex Alimentarius Commission where international food safety standards are established.


The Global Initiative for Food-related Scientific Advice (GIFSA) has been established in 2007 to ensure sustainable funding of the FAO/WHO activities on the provision of scientific advice to the Codex Alimentarius Commission and Member Countries. Contributions are accepted from governments, organizations and foundations in accordance with WHO and FAO rules.

Department of Food Safety and Zoonoses