Alert, response, and capacity building under the International Health Regulations (IHR)

List of Members of, and Advisers to, the International Health Regulations (2005) Emergency Committee concerning Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV)

13 May 2014


Professor Chris Baggoley

Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health and Ageing, Canberra, Australia


Dr Theresa Tam

Branch Head, Health Security Infrastructure Branch, Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, Canada


Dr Salah T. Al Awaidy

Communicable Diseases Adviser to Health Affairs, Ministry of Health, Muscat, Oman


Professor Tjandra Aditama

Director General, National Institute of Health, Research and Development, Ministry of Health, Jakarta, Indonesia

Dr Hussain Al Rand

Assistant Undersecretary for Health Centers and Clinics, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Dr Martin Cetron

Director, Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, United States of America

Professor Claudia Gonzalez

Psychologist and Researcher, Center of Epidemiology and Public Health Policy, Faculty of Medicine, Clínica Alemana-Universidad del Desarrollo, and Partner-Director Epi-Sur Consultores, Santiago de Chile, Chile

Dr Paata Imnadze

Head of Scientific Board, National Center for Disease Control and Public Health, Tbilisi, Georgia

Dr Fadzilah Kamaludin

Head, Office of Deputy Director General of Health (Public Health), and Director, Epidemic Intelligence Program (Field Epidemiology Training Program), Ministry of Health, Putrajaya, Malaysia

Dr Bjørn-Inge Larsen

Secretary General, Ministry of Health and Care Services, Oslo, Norway

Dr Ziad Memish

Deputy Minister for Public Health, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Professor Babacar Ndoye

Expert-consultant and trainer in hospital hygiene, infection control and patient safety, Dakar, Senegal

Professor Mahmudur Rahman

Director, Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research and National Influenza Centre, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Professor Maha Talaat

Director, Infection Control Unit and Deputy Director, Disease Prevention, Global Disease Detection and Response Center, United States Naval Medical Research Unit, No.3, Cairo, Egypt

Professor Oyewale Tomori

Redeemer’s University, Redemption City, Lagos, Nigeria

Professor Maria Zambon

Director, Reference Microbiology Services, Public Health England, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


Dr Anthony Evans

Chief, Aviation Medicine Section, International Civil Aviation Organization

Dr Bernard Faye

Consultant to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Camel project, Center for Agriculture Project, Al-Kharj, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and Senior Scientist, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development, Montpellier, France

Dr Marion Koopmans

Professor of Public Health Virology, Viroscience Department (head of department starting July 2014), Erasmus University of Rotterdam; and Chief, Virology Department, Laboratory for Infectious Diseases and Screening, National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, Kingdom of the Netherlands

Ms Karen Tan

Senior Director, Public Communication Division, Ministry of Communications and Information, Singapore



Professor Babacar Ndoye

Professor Ndoye recently retired and is in the process of setting up a training programme in Senegal in the areas of hygiene and infection control, to be hosted by an institute of higher learning. This programme involves no financial investment on his part or any relationship with industry.

Professor Maria Zambon

Professor Maria Zambon is the Director of Reference Microbiology Services at Public Health England (PHE), an Executive Agency of the UK Department of Health (previously known as the Health Protection Agency (HPA)). Professor Zambon has worked for a UK government agency since 1994. In this role and all previous roles for UK government agencies, it is necessary to liaise with industry on a range of topics, including vaccines and antivirals, occasionally involving collaborative research and development agreements (CRADA) which fund laboratory staff and consumables. There has been no personal funding to Professor Zambon. Previously (up to 2009), the HPA received significant funding through CRADAs with vaccine manufacturers, including Sanofi, Novartis, CSL, Baxter and GSK. Roche currently provides funding through CRADA for development of analytical methods to detect the emergence of antiviral resistance. In 2012, Professor Zambon received a bursary for airfare and accommodation from the American Society of Microbiology for the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy to deliver a keynote address.


Dr Marion Koopmans

Professor Koopmans has declared that scientists at the Erasmus University of Rotterdam have submitted a patent application for the discovery of MERS-CoV to which she is not a beneficiary.

The interests summarized above do not give rise to a conflict of interest such that the experts concerned should be partially or totally excluded from participation in the Emergency Committee. However, following WHO's policy, they are disclosed within the Committee so that other members were aware of them. All other Members and Advisers of the Emergency Committee declared no relevant interests.

Many of the Emergency Committee Members have extensive governmental experience and expertise – and consulting with WHO – in the areas that are the subject of the Emergency Committee proceedings, which were considered very relevant and important for the challenging tasks faced by the Committee.