Strengthening health security by implementing the International Health Regulations (2005)

List of Members of, and Advisers to, the International Health Regulations (2005) Emergency Committee regarding Ebola


Dr Sam Zaramba

Senior Consultant Surgeon, Former Director General of Health Services, Ministry of Health, Kampala, Uganda


Professor Robert Steffen

Department of Epidemiology and Prevention of Infectious Diseases, WHO Collaborating Centre for Travellers’ Health, University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland


Professor Oyewale Tomori

Redeemer’s University, Redemption City, Lagos, Nigeria


Dr Abdullah Al-Assiri

Assistant Deputy Minister of Health for Preventive Health, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Professor Chris Baggoley

Chief Medical Officer, Australian Government Department of Health, Canberra, Australia

Professor Lucille Blumberg

Deputy Director, National Institute for Communicable Diseases, National Health Laboratory Service, Johannesburg, South Africa

Dr Martin Cetron

Director, Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, United States of America

Dr Alain Epelboin

Researcher in Medical Anthropology, National Centre for Scientific Research and National Museum of Natural History, Paris, France

Dr Amara Jambai

Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Ministry of Health and Sanitation, Freetown, Sierra Leone

Professor James LeDuc

Director of Galveston National Laboratory, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, United States of America

Dr Fernando Otaiza

Chief, National Infection Prevention and Control Programme, Ministry of Health, Santiago, Chile

Dr Mark Salter

Consultant in Global Health, Public Health England, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Dr Theresa Tam

Branch Head, Health Security Infrastructure Branch, Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, Canada


Professor William Ampofo

Head of Virology Department, Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, University of Ghana, Accra, Ghana

Colonel (retired) Vincent Anami

Continent Representative (Africa), Center for Disaster and Humanitarian Assistance Medicine, Uniformed Services University of the Health and Sciences, Friends International Centre, Nairobi, Kenya

Dr Vincent Covello

Director, Center for Risk Communication, New York, United States of America

Dr Anthony Evans

Aviation Medicine Consultant, International Civil Aviation Organization, Montreal, Canada

Dr Dirk Glaesser1

Director, Sustainable Development of Tourism Programme, World Tourism Organization, Madrid, Spain

Dr Maria João Martins

Advisor to the General Director of Health for International Health, Ministry of Health, Lisbon, Portugal

Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe

Department of Microbiology, University of Kinshasa, and Director-General, National Institute of Biomedical Research, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo

Professor Michael Selgelid

Director, Centre for Human Bioethics, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

Captain Andrew Winbow1

Assistant Secretary-General/Director, Maritime Safety Division, International Maritime Organization, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

1 Advisor since third Ebola IHR Emergency Committee meeting