Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals

MVIP countries: Ghana, Kenya and Malawi

The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.

Following a WHO call for expressions of interest to take part in the malaria vaccine pilot programme that was addressed to ministries of health in sub-Saharan Africa, Ghana, Kenya, and Malawi were selected for the first malaria vaccine phased introduction. Key among the criteria for selection were well-functioning malaria and immunization programmes and high malaria burden.

National immunization programmes in the 3 countries lead the introduction of the malaria vaccine in selected areas of medium-to-high malaria transmission. In these areas, the vaccine will be available to young children through the routine public health services.

Close collaboration with the national malaria control programme will ensure that existing WHO-recommended prevention tools, such as long-lasting insecticidal nets and artemisinin-based combination therapies, continue to be deployed on a wide scale.

General information

Further information about the countries

Last updated: 11 July 2019