Members of the Commission

The Commissioners are appointed in their individual capacity rather than as the representative of an institution or government body, and will have complete independence in carrying out their work.

The Commission will be supported by reference groups for the purposes of consulting key stakeholders, including the research and development-based industry and civil society groups.

The ten members of the Commission are:

Ms Ruth Dreifuss (Chairperson)
President of the Swiss Confederation in 1999. From 1993 to 2002, member of the Swiss government and Federal Minister of Interior where her responsibilities included, amongst others, public health and scientific research.
Full text

Dr Raghunath Anant Mashelkar (vice-Chair)
Director-General of India’s Council of Scientific and Industrial Research.
Full text

Professor Carlos Correa
A lawyer and economist from Argentina, is Director of the Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies on Industrial Property and Economics Law, at the University of Buenos Aires.
Full text

Professor Mahmoud Fathalla
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, former Dean of the Medical School at Assiut University, Egypt, and Chair of the WHO Advisory Committee on Health Research.
Full text

Dr Maria Freire
Chief Executive Officer of the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development, and previously directed the Office of Technology Transfer at the US National Institutes of Health from 1995 to 2001.
Full text

Professor Trevor Jones
Director-General of the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry, and was previously Director of Research and Development at the Wellcome Foundation Limited.
Full text

Mr Tshediso Matona
An economist and trade policy expert, is Deputy Director-General in South Africa’s Department of Trade and Industry.
Full text

Professor Fabio Pammolli
Professor of Economics and Management at the University of Florence. He is the Director of European Pharmaceutical Regulation and Innovation Systems at the University of Siena.
Full text

Professor Pakdee Pothisiri
Senior Deputy Permanent Secretary of Health, Government of Thailand, and formerly Secretary General of the Thai Food and Drug Administration.
Full text

Professor Hiroko Yamane
Professor of International Economic Law, Economic Law and European Community Law at the Graduate Institute for Policy Studies in Tokyo, specialising in trade law, competition and intellectual property rights.
Full text