Media centre

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus elected WHO Director-General

23 May 2017 – Today the Member States of WHO elected Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus as the new Director-General of WHO. Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus was nominated by the Government of Ethiopia, and will begin his five-year term on 1 July 2017. Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus will succeed Dr Margaret Chan, who has been WHO’s Director-General since 1 January 2007.

2017 Public health prizes awarded

26 May 2017 – Every year, national health administrations and former prize recipients submit nominations for prizes awarded for accomplishments in the field of public health. This year’s winners were presented with their awards during the plenary meeting of the Seventieth World Health Assembly.

Seventieth World Health Assembly, 22-31 May 2017

The World Health Assembly is the decision-making body of WHO. It is attended by all WHO Member States and focuses on a health agenda prepared by the Executive Board. The main functions of the World Health Assembly are to determine the policies of WHO, appoint the Director-General, supervise financial policies, and review and approve the proposed programme budget. The World Health Assembly is held annually in Geneva, Switzerland.

World Health +SocialGood

During this year's World Health Assembly, WHO in collaboration with UN Foundation will produce three Facebook live shows. These shows will feature public health experts who will take questions from the audience on Facebook.