Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

STAC provides external scientific and technical input in the planning, prioritization and review of TDR’s activities. More specifically, STAC:

  • reviews, from a scientific and technical standpoint, the content, scope and dimensions of the Special Programme;
  • recommends priorities within the Special Programme, including the establishment and disestablishment of scientific working groups, and all scientific and technical activities related to the Special Programme;
  • provides the JCB and the TDR Secretariat with a continuous independent evaluation of the scientific and technical aspects of all activities of the Special Programme.

The STAC shall be comprised of 15 multidisciplinary members, selected on the basis of individual scientific or technical competence. Members serve for a period of 2 years and may be reappointed.

The dates of the next meeting of the STAC (STAC42) will be confirmed in June 2019.

Reports and recommendations


Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee Members from 1 January 2018

Professor Charles Stephen Mgone

Former Executive Director, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP), Netherlands

Dr Ayat Abu-Agla

Scientist, Researcher, Trinity Centre for Global Health, Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin, Ireland

Professor Maria Teresa Bejarano

Gender and Reproductive Rights Advisor, United Nations Population Fund, USA

Professor Afif Bin Salih

Full Professor of Community Medicine, College of Medicine and Medical Sciences, Bahrein

Dr Graeme Bilbe

Research and Development Director, Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative (DNDi), Geneva, Switzerland.

Professor Moses John Bockarie

Director of South-South Cooperation and Head of Africa Office, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP), Cape Town, South Africa

Dr Claudia Chamas

Researcher, Centre for Technological Development in Health (CDTS) of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz), Brazil

Professor Sónia Dias

Associate Professor, National School of Public Health, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

Dr Sara Eyangoh

Scientific Director, Centre Pasteur of Cameroon (CPC), Cameroon

Professor Simon Hales

Research Associate Professor: Environmental Epidemiology, University of Otago, New Zealand

Professor Subhash Hira

Distinguished Professor of Public Health & Infectious Diseases, Public Health Foundation of India

Dr Shagufta Perveen

Senior Instructor, Health System and Policy Research Group, The Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Dr Sonnia Romero Gorski

Director of the Health and Anthropology Program, Instituto de Antropologia, Uruguay

Professor Stephen (Bertie) Squire

Director, Centre for Applied Health Research and Delivery, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Xiao-Nong Zhou

Director, National Institute of Parasitic Diseases (IPD), China CDC

Health product profile directory

for smarter, more efficient R&D to tackle global health priorities

A free-to-use online resource created and developed by TDR on behalf of WHO as a global public good to improve the efficiency of efforts to develop new products for neglected diseases and populations as well as threats to global health.

TDR Gateway

Now live!

TDR innovative scientific publishing platform to share new knowledge and impactful findings on how to combat infectious diseases of poverty.

TDR Global
is a community of passionate scientists and experts who have been working with TDR to support global research efforts on infectious diseases of poverty.

About TDR: Building the science of solutions

TDR, the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) is a global programme of scientific collaboration established in 1975. Its focus is to improve the health and well-being of people burdened by infectious diseases of poverty through research and innovation. TDR is based at the World Health Organization (WHO), and is sponsored by the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the World Bank and WHO.